Sent: Tue, May 6, 2014 12:29 pm
Subject: Week #2!

Image

Hello my Loveys!!
This week was awesome! I can’t beleive it has already been another week- it’s crazy! This was a fabulous week because we got to escape the prison walls and go proselyting! It was so great! All the gringos(white kids) get paired with a latino companion and we take a 40 minute bus ride to the Lima South mission. My companion was Hermana Gonzalez, from Mexico and she is beyond amazing. She speaks a little english which was extremely helpful and she was SO patient and encouraging to me all day. We paired with a seminary teacher lady from the area and a 12 yr old girl, Naomi, who is investigating the church. The city is all dirt and broken sidewalks, stray dogs everywhere, graffitti on every wall, and the people drive INSANE! There are no street signs and cars do not stop for anything…not even pedestrians. The stores are all gated off, and you have to tell the worker what you want and pay through the rails. The houses are all together and the front door is right on the sidewalk, so if you stop to knock on a door, everybody has to walk around you. Hermana Gonzalez and I made a goal to contact 10 people in our time, and we did it! I was amazed at how at how receptive the people were! Each person we approached was willing to talk to us, give us their information, and thanks us for our folletas (pamphlets). We contacted a few teenage boys to incite them to seminary or institute. Each boy was so polite and receptive and all three committed to going the next day! The last teenage boy we contacted spoke english! I was SOOOOO happy! It felt so good to not have to think really hard about every word I said. We talked to an old lady and her grandaughter at one house that we had to walk through disgusting, fly infested, poop puddles to get to. I couldn’t understand everything but at one point she looked at me and said she was so grateful that I left California and came all the way to Peru to give her this message. It made me so grateful for the choices I’ve made and the atonement which allowed me to be here. It made feeling poop water on my ankles bearable:) Later my district had a testimony meeting and it was SO spiritual, it was amazing. It was so inspiring to see the spiritual side of the elders and my companions. It was my favorite moment thus far. Aside from proselyting, nothing totally exciting has happened. Our district found music on the computers and it was like finding gold in the 1850’s. My roommates and I decided to sit with mission President Gonzalez the other night, as he was all alone at dinner. In broken spanish he told us about his crazy life and we made a big fuss over him. He is the cutest little man! I loved talking to him but it also made me really sad because he looks and acts just like my dad, and it made me miss Dad a lot. Before he left, he said in his accent, “thank you for being with me”. So Cute!! Happy belated Cinco de Mayo! My companions and I wore the brightest colors we had to celebrate the american made mexican holiday in Peru. We stole fruit from the cafeteria to have a fiesta later.
 
OK FUNNY STORIES!
1) So my Maestra hates me because  I keep stealing her markers and putting them on other peoples desks. It is so hilarious because she goes to write something down, and then ends up finding them on some poor kids desk that has no idea how they got there and are so confused.
2) We practiced teaching lessons with the latinos, and I told the latino Elders that Hermana Manwill’s name was Fuchi (sp?) which means smelly in spanish. She had no idea what it meant so she was like, “¡Oh si! ¡Mi nombre es Fushi!” Omgoodness I was dying. Now everytime they see her they yell, “¡Ay, Hermana Fuchi!”.
3) The other day I told this Latina girl that her hair was beautiful and ran my fingers over it. I thought she was pretty rude when she just gave me a weird look and didn’t say anything. I later found out that I had complimented her fur. Awesome Freyre.
4) The last couple are just small things that may not be as funny to people that haven’t been kept inside with no entertainment, but anywho… The other day my companions and I went upstairs to grab something and ended up in a three person spoonfest. Also, my maestra keeps saying “congregated” instead of “conjugated”.
 
I love all of you so much! Til next week!

Image

